According to the Canwest News Service, members of the Canadian Celiac Association are calling on the Roman Catholic Church to provide a gluten-free alternative to the communion wafer. The Church presently only offers a low-gluten wafer with .01% gluten.
Organizations around the world vary on what “gluten-free” is exactly but the typical range is 3 to 30 parts per million, a far cry from the Church wafer’s 10,000 parts per million.
According to the Church, gluten-free bread is not considered bread in Canon Law, so there has to be gluten in it.
However, the Church points out that there is a second option for Celiacs: receive “blood from the chalice.” In the case of shared chalices, Priests may provide a second chalice for Celiacs to prevent cross-contamination.