Daiya Foods the latest gluten-free certified company

Mmmmm…  cheese…

The gluten-free certification program is proud to announce the addition of Daiya to its growing family of certified gluten-free products.

Daiya offers the following certified gluten-free products:

  • Cheddar Style Wedge
  • Jack Style Wedge
  • Jalapeño Garlic Havarti Style Wedge
  • Cheddar Style Shreds
  • Mozzarella Style Shreds
  • Pepperjack Style Shreds

For more info on the growing gluten-free certified companies list visit: http://www.glutenfreecertification.ca/brands/

For more information on Daiya, visit: http://www.daiyafoods.com/

Not all flavours of Better than Bouillon are gluten free

Courtesy Ellen Bayens, The Celiac Scene via Facebook

Better than Bouillon used to be the go-to stock starter for celiacs but no longer.

I was conducting a Gluten-Free Store tour at Planet Organic here in Victoria, BC when I made my usual stop in front of the Better Than Bouillon (BTB) shelf. I recommend their concentrated stocks as a premium base because they contain no fat, and because they are gluten free – or used to be! Over the past year, the ‘gluten-free’ label no longer appeared on their labels but were reassured about BTB’s gluten-free status on their website. We understood that only the low-sodium flavour contained gluten. However, yesterday, we noticed that at least two of their other flavours now list malt barley on their labels.

A quick peek at BTB’s FAQs http://www.superiortouch.com/retail/faq revealed, “We don’t test our finished products for gluten; therefore, we do not make any claims or representations regarding gluten. However, we understand how important it is for people who have been medically diagnosed with gluten sensitivity to have accurate information about foods to help plan their meals and diets. Therefore, we list ingredients that contain gluten on the ingredient statements of our products. These items will be listed using commonly known terms such as Wheat, Barley, Oats or Rye. For other ingredients that contain gluten, the grain source will be declared in parenthesis after the ingredient name. For example, if the ingredient “natural flavor” contains a gluten source, the label would read: natural flavor (contains rye).”

Another reminder to Celiacs, check labels, every time.

Kelowna Celiac at Save on Foods

Starting Friday, Kelowna Orchard Plaza Save on Foods is hosting a gluten-free week to draw attention to their growing stock of gluten-free foods.

Kelowna Celiac will be on hand 3 pm – 6 pm Friday to Tuesday this week (September 14 – 18) providing customers gluten-free info as well as the benefits of joining Kelowna Celiac and the Canadian Celiac Association.  (Thank you volunteers!)

If you are considering joining, pop by Save on Foods and talk to our on duty volunteer.

A speaker from Vancouver will also be on hand.  More details to come.

Health Canada updates guidance document to industry on “gluten-free”

It is now official!

Below is a link to the long-awaited guidance document to industry on gluten-free claims by Health Canada.

A very quick summary notes that products that do not exceed 20 ppm, and manufactured under ‘Good Manufacturing Practices’, are deemed to meet the intent of B.24.018 when a gluten-free claim is made.


This link will be posted on the CCA websites.  We will also be taking efforts to inform the industry and consumer/patient groups.

Jim McCarthy,

Advisor, Canadian Celiac Association

Say what? Domino’s offers “gluten-free” crust not appropriate for Celiacs

By David Fowler

Yes, you read that right.

The marketing wizards at Domino’s are offering a “gluten-free” crust that may get contaminated during preparation and is therefore not recommended for Celiacs.

While the gluten-free fad diet for non-Celiacs has been somewhat helpful in raising Celiac awareness in recently years, Domino’s is now creating a confusing new class of products that claim to be “gluten-free” but are not free of gluten enough for Celiacs to consume them.

Meanwhile here in Canada, Boston Pizza figured out how to do it right and as a Celiac I have enjoyed their gluten-free pizza many times without incident.

So, next time you are visiting the U.S., be sure to get out your reading glasses and check the fine print on those packages with large “gluten-free” text on it.  There maybe an asterisk saying “not suitable for Celiacs”.

In fairness to Domino’s, you can read their side of the story in the full press release below the break…

Please note: This article is my opinion only and does not necessarily reflect that of Kelowna Chapter or the CCA.  Have your say.  Use our comment box below.

Domino’s Pizza Becomes First National Pizza Delivery Chain to Offer Gluten Free Crust

Domino’s partners with National Foundation for Celiac Awareness, introduces product for customers with mild gluten sensitivity

ANN ARBOR, Mich., May 7, 2012

Domino’s Pizza is responding to the needs of choice consumers, today launching a Gluten Free Crust available in all of its nearly 5,000 U.S. stores and becoming the first national pizza delivery chain to offer such a product.

Domino’s Pizza (NYSE: DPZ) consulted with the National Foundation for Celiac Awareness (NFCA) to ensure its products and team member training meet the standards of the foundation’s GREAT Kitchens Amber Designation. NFCA’s GREAT Kitchens is an official credentialing program that has expanded to include restaurants offering gluten free products with varying kitchen practices, therefore suitable for those with gluten sensitivity under the Amber Designation.

Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust provides a great-tasting option for consumers who previously could not enjoy pizza from the recognized world leader in pizza delivery because of sensitivity to gluten – a protein found in wheat, rye and barley.

“Many of our customers have asked for a gluten free crust, and Domino’s is excited to offer a product to customers with mild gluten sensitivity – as well as partner with the NFCA, which has been instrumental to our learning more about how to take this step,” said J. Patrick Doyle, Domino’s Pizza president and CEO. “The prevalence of gluten sensitivity has become a real issue with significant impact on consumer choice, and we want to be a part of the solution. Now, the whole group can enjoy Domino’s with the addition of our new Gluten Free Crust.”

While Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust is appropriate for those with mild gluten sensitivity, Domino’s and the NFCA do not recommend it for those with celiac disease. Domino’s and the NFCA found that while the crust is certified as gluten free, current store operations at Domino’s cannot guarantee that each handcrafted pizza will be completely free from gluten.

“The NFCA is thrilled that Domino’s Pizza has developed a product that will improve the quality of life for many of the estimated 18 million Americans who are gluten sensitive,” said Alice Bast, NFCA founder and president. “Not only is Domino’s Gluten Free Crust a huge win for much of the gluten free community who can now get pizza delivered to their door, it’s also delicious. Customers aren’t going to believe they’re eating a pizza made on a gluten free crust when they try it. And the variety of fresh toppings that are available is a giant leap ahead.”

In an effort to remain open and informative about Domino’s Gluten Free Crust, Domino’s has created a video on YouTube that allows customers to decide whether this product is suitable for their diet, found here: www.youtube.com/user/dominosvids.

“Offering Domino’s Gluten Free Crust is a big step for us, and we wanted to make sure we were doing it right,” said Doyle. “Domino’s is doing that by partnering with experts at the NFCA and by empowering the gluten sensitive community with the information they need.”

Domino’s new Gluten Free Crust is available in stores across the U.S. in a small, 10-inch size only, and prices vary by store.

Domino’s pizza made with a Gluten Free Crust is prepared in a common kitchen with the risk of gluten exposure. The National Foundation for Celiac Awareness supports the availability of Domino’s Gluten Free Crust, but cannot recommend the pizza for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment in consuming this pizza.

Kelowna gluten-free restaurant maps

Just in time for the Kelowna 2012 conference, Ellen Bayens from theceliacscene.com has produced some terrific gluten-free restaurant maps for the conference.

ON HARVEY AVENUE (Highway 97): 
West Kelowna: 
For the Kids: 
Popular Tourist Attractions: 

See the Kelowna Overview map showing all restaurants, retailers, attractions and kids activities,  denoted by color.

Have some fun –  click on one of the colors at the bottom of the maps and behold!

Coupon Deal: Free box of Gluten-Free Betty Crocker Cake Mix

By Angela Petrie

Christmas has come early from Betty Crocker.  IGA has a printable coupon for a free box of their Betty Crocker Gluten-Free cake mix!

Click here for the PDF printable coupon!

The coupon expires Thursday December 22, 2011 so act quickly.

Click here to find an IGA near you.

It pays to visit KelownaCeliac.org!  🙂

Yummy gluten-free Christmas dinner delights all

By David Fowler

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About 50 attended our annual gluten-free Christmas dinner at the Lake Country Seniors Activity Centre this afternoon.  Each year the executive cooks the meal and sells tickets to raise funds for the chapter and the Canadian Celiac Association.

Turkey, mashed potatoes, carrots, squash, gravy and stuffing.  We also enjoyed nummy desserts including ice cream.

Bill ran the door prize raffle and the kids got fabulous early Christmas gifts.

Our next full Chapter meeting is in March 2012.  See you then!

Celiac Scene sounds warning bell about the “Wok Box”

The popular gluten-free restaurant site CeliacScene.com is sounding the alarm bells about an Asian restaurant.

The Wok Box, which positions itself as “”fresh asian cuisine”, has franchises across Canada including the southern interior of B.C.

According to CeliacScene.com and members of Vancouver Celiac, some franchise owners are mistakenly promoting some menu items as gluten-free when in fact they are only wheat-free.

WokBox says they are looking into the wheat-free items to see if they are also gluten-free.

The CeliacScene states “Diners adhering to a gluten-free diet may wish to refrain from consuming food that Wok Box franchisees promote as being gluten-free while Wok Box deliberates on their ingredients and their commitment to their customers’ safety.”