Are stamps, envelopes, and lipstick gluten-free?

by Shelley Case, R.D.
Member of the Celiac Disease Foundation Medical Advisory Board

LipstickEven though some personal care products such as lotion and shampoo may contain gluten; unless ingested the gluten cannot be absorbed by the skin. Lipstick and lip-gloss may use a gluten containing ingredient, but the amount is extremely low. Research reported in the spring of 2010 issue of Gluten Free Living Magazine found that if a person used a lipstick containing gluten and the tube lasted 30 days; you would apply 0.0001oz of potential gluten per day or 1.41ppm. This is well below the recommendations by the FDA for items labelled “ gluten free”.

Adhesives used in envelopes and stamps do not contain gluten.

Distilled vinegars and alcoholic beverages can be derived from gluten containing grains, however research has confirmed the distillation process removes the gluten protein. One exception is beer made from malted barley. It is only fermented and not distilled. Fortunately there are gluten-free beers made from sorghum, rice and other safe grains.

Ketchup and most ice creams (except those with cookies and cookie dough) are also gluten-free.